No President for the 10th time!


Speaker Nabih Berri adjourned on Tuesday the parliamentary session aimed at electing a president to September 2 over lack of quorum caused by boycotting blocs.

The tenth round that was scheduled to take place on Tuesday met the fate of its predecessors after only around 55 MPs attended the session.

The Constitution states that two-thirds of parliament’s 128 members should be present to have quorum.

The March 14 alliance backs Lebanese Forces chief Samir Geagea. But the March 8 camp refuses to officially announce its candidate despite hinting its support for Free Patriotic Movement leader Michel Aoun.

But Aoun, the head of the Change and Reform bloc, has said he would only announce his candidacy if there was consensus on him.

The failure to elect a president has put parliament’s fate in disarray.

Last year, the legislature extended its term till November 2014 after the rival lawmakers disagreed on an electoral draft-law.

As the parliamentary polls are approaching, some blocs are calling for another extension while others are holding onto their stance to hold the elections after choosing a new president.